Dear Saul,

I’m gonna take a nap for a bit after writing this, because I’ll be honest, it’s difficult writing a post after only falling asleep at 7:30 in the morning.

Yeah, I’m gonna need a coffee or something.

I won’t lie, I’m a big sleeper. If I could get away with it, I probably wouldn’t leave my bed. But, despite my protests, society demands that I get up and make something of myself (So I put my time into entertaining you good folks 😉 ). Only problem is, after someone wakes up, they may find it difficult to go back to sleep. For the most part, I’ve gotten lucky and avoided insomnia without the use of pills or a good clang on the head  with a frying pan. But every so often, everyone has one of those nights. Either something’s bothering you, or there’s just too many things going on in your head, one way or another, you’re not going to sleep tonight. For me, when it happens, it happens badly, and it can mess up my already strange sleep schedule for days. It can happen to anyone, given the right circumstances, and can literally give people sleepless nights worrying about it.

So, what do you do?

As it happens, searching for crappy stock photos doesn’t help.

There are so many books, so many websites, and so many people telling you to do this that and the other, take this pill, drink this warm thing, watch this crummy hypnosis video on YouTube, write this blog post, etc. etc. But it’s not always that simple. So what do I do personally?

Well, if you want to follow in my footsteps, first thing is to get up. If you’re not able to sleep on the pile of springs and pillows designed for you to sleep on, there’s no point staying in it. If you can’t sleep, get up.

Next thing is to get a drink, be it coffee or warm milk, it doesn’t matter. You’re gonna be feeling rough being up at this ungodly hour, so any fluids will be a bit of help in making sure you don’t collapse on the good marble floor of your kitchen.

What you do next is entirely up to you. Do something that leaves you saying ‘I’m glad I stayed up for this’, give yourself a reason for being up so late, something that makes sleep needless by comparison. Paint that rubbish picture of the street at night you’ve always wanted to make. Write that love song you always hated yourself for not making. Write a million different letters you keep throwing out, telling your crush how you really feel.  Pull a Fight Club, visit a support group for something you don’t really have (maybe don’t do this one).

Still lost as to what to do? Listen to that one song you heard on the night of your first kiss that you’ve heard a million time. Listen to it a million times more until you can’t stomach it. Read that one page of that one book in that one series that left you crying every time you read it, and will probably make you cry again. Start a blog, even if know one wants to hear what you say, and be proud to call it your own. Or you could just think, reflect on your life, mold yourself into the human you want to be. Do all of this at 3 in the morning, not because you can’t sleep, but because you want an excuse just to stay up. A reason to keep going, to ignore everything that’s been keeping you up, everything that’s been giving you sleepless nights. Whatever it is, it doesn’t own you. It doesn’t own your time, and getting up to do something reminds you that it doesn’t control your life.

If we can’t sleep, what’s the point of lying down?

Best Wishes,

-Fiachra

P.S: I don’t usually advertise shamelessly around here, I have a whole tab for that. But I would strongly recommend you check out Ben’s Bitter Blog. I’ve been following him for a while, and I’d feel guilty not recommending funny and witty people to ye. Please go ahead and support him 🙂

