Dear Saul,

It’s been a while. Where have I been? under a rock for the most part.

I’m sorry for not keeping up with the letters. With work on That’s Horror-ble, the new series on the blog underway, stuff happening in real life, and my lack of writing pretty much anything these past few weeks, I’ve hardly had any time to talk to you. And as my muse, I really should be. Unfortunately, time hasn’t been my friend on this one.

Strange. You plan everything out, you have the ideas in your head, the resources to pull it off, but when it comes down to it, the only thing that stops you is the fact that, well, that there isn’t enough time to do it. And it’s infuriating. Intensely planned events and well thought out plots are obliterated, purely because there isn’t enough hours in a day. As a content creator, it’s hell, especially if you’ve been working on something for so long. People who call themselves fans scream at you to release the latest episode of your hit web cartoon, and no matter how hard you work, time prevents you from releasing it on schedule.

But here’s the part that doesn’t seem to get though to some:

It’s not your fault

So many people cave to the pressure put on them by fans, or bosses, or anyone claiming that it’s your fault you haven’t been able to release something. I’m sorry, do they think we control when the suns sets? Do they think we decide when the day ends  and we no longer have the mental capacity to stay awake and work? If they do, I feel so sorry for them.

Maybe you haven’t been able to file that report, maybe your latest youtube video can’t be uploaded yet. Tell those who scream at you to get it done now to wait. If they truly care, either about the work or you, they will.

In essence, this will be the excuse I use when people ask me why I haven’t written much.  😉

Glad to be back Saul.

-Fiachra

 

