Dear Saul,

When you get old, you’ll soon realise that your memories of anything below 1o years old start blurring together and turning to dust. That may sound nightmarish, but believe me, you’re shedding nothing but dead weight. You’ll be left with the best memories you can remember, and you’ll forget the crappy ones long before that. The memories of a favourite birthday, of your best childhood friend, those are the memories that will keep, and you’ll be glad you kept them.

An example? I’m 16 in June (Oh no, people on the internet know my age. What else would you like to know, my blood type?). I remember my life pretty well, but some really good times stick out. One of them being sitting at a friends house enjoying the hell out of NHL 2005. It was just one of those games that was fun to mess around in with friends when you’re young, and the soundtrack sticks out so much in my head:

 

I promise the name of this song is entirely coincidental, I promise. But in any case, any time this song, or any song from NHL 2005 (or Burnout Paradise, a game I love very dearly), I get a nostalgia high. It’s a nice thing to be able to have, something to remind yourself of better times. Some people have music, some a piece of jewellery, some just stick to thoughts of good days.

Try keeping those memories close, they might come in handy at some point. Don’t worry about losing the rest of them. I don’t think you wanna remember crappy school lunches or primary school bullies.

Regards,

-Fiachra

P.S I should probably try to cut down on the amount of times I said ‘memories’ in this post…

