Dear Saul,

I know you’re not particularly the “geeky” type, but I figured thus would make a good talking point. At least it’ll give me something to do while I shrug off the last of the cold.

Let’s talk about Playstation.

If you’ve fallen asleep at this, perhaps you should ignore this and read some of my other stuff, because, as a teenager it is my duty to talk about things relative to my age. Video games being one, boys being the other. And makeup.

But if you are interested, there’s a strong chance you might’ve learned on Wednesday that Sony have announced their news west console, the Playstation 4 (insert chorus of “ooohs” and “aaahs” if applicable)

However, am I excited for this? Am I quivering with joy?

Honestly, not particularly. This is a surprise, considering I grew up in the age of ps2. That was a part of my childhood, and fond memories are abound, memories of split screen games with my brother, Star Wars Battlefront, Sly Cooper, Ratchet and Clank. It was a fun pastime, and helped shape me into the person I am now, for better or for worse.

But this machine, the ps4? It doesn’t serve the same purpose to me. Its high tech, it has all these shiny new features its predecessors could only dream of. But that’s the problem. It’s obstructing the player from the enjoying the simplest thing: the game, the fun with friends on the couch. You can’t do that when they constantly bombard you with social media notifications, ways to connect with others.

In trying to make gaming more social, they have alienated a large portion of their market, those that weren’t already gone.

So, for now, I’ll keep firing up the Playstation 2 until I feel suitably pleased with what they’re doing.

Okay, I’m done. Wing a bore, Sauk. See you next week.
Regards,
-Fiachra

