Dear Saul,
As you yourself sometimes write, you’ll understand how important it is to poke holes in your character. As well as being the most entertaining part of character design, it helps to flesh them out into real people, rather than 2D mindless puppets you control. I make characters, I put flaws in them, break them, pick them up and dust them off, but it’s the faults of their characters that pushes the story in the direction it’s going in.

The same, I think, holds true in our real lives as it does in our own little fictional ones. Our flaws push us in a certain direction, and by knowing what those are can gives us a better understanding of how to reign them in and direct things a little easier.

Take me for example (yes, I realise I am yelling to the world what sucks about me, and is about as personal as my blood type, but I like you all, and you’re not likely to steal my kidneys, so…).

I procrastinate to the extreme, though going over deadlines scares me. This leads to an awful last minute panic, which leads to the work being done, but leaving me exhausted.

I do sleep a lot, but I’m not awake to hear if anyone’s complaining, so it’s all good from that angle.

I put far to much forethought into things. Before I even begin to start, I have a plan of what I want, and when, where and why all sorted out. Good trait for a writer, bad trait for a procrastinator.

And I’m terrible at maths. It’s quite funny, actually, to wind me up and watch me go at the quadratic formula.

Those are some of mine. I don’t try to hide or escape the fact that they exist. If I were to go around acting like they didn’t, I’d end up as one of the 2d puppets. All I do is accept these faults, accept that they are a part of me, something that makes up Fiachra, and keep them with me, loud and proud.

And don’t let your flaws become the big failure elephant in the room. Pretending to hide your failings is like a mystery novel keeping something from the reader. You will feel cheated and stomped in if you don’t embrace who you are and why you’re a brilliant and loveable moron.

I’m joking, of course. You’re not a moron. I’m pretty sure.

So once you accept your flaws, you become a better character, and like a good character, you can appeal more to those who want to be in your life.

Keep on musing!
Regards,
-Fiachra

